Dept Banner
Dept Banner
Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Call for Nomination: Alan T. Waterman Award


Wednesday, December 31, 2014


The National Science Foundation is pleased to announce that Feng Zhang is the winner of the 2014 Alan T. Waterman Award.

Dr. Zhang's research focuses on understanding brain function. He is well known for his pioneering work in optogenetics, which combines genetic and optical techniques to control specific events within specific cells of living tissue. Dr. Zhang is one of 11 core faculty members at the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard. He is also an investigator at MIT's McGovern Institute for Brain Research, and the W.M. Keck Career Development Professor at MIT.

Congress established the Alan T. Waterman Award in August 1975 to mark the 25th Anniversary of the National Science Foundation and to honor its first Director. The annual award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over a five year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient's choice.

For more information, please visit:



Contact Us

NR03HamiltonGate 607 Taylor Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854

P   848-445-1388
Email Us