Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award


Thursday, July 30, 2015


The award is bestowed by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy to mid-career scientists and engineers in recognition of exceptional scientific, technical, and/or engineering achievements related to the broad missions of the U.S. Department of Energy and its programs. The Lawrence Award is administered by the Department of Energy's Office of Science.

The objectives of the Lawrence Awards are
- to encourage excellence in energy science and technology;
- to inspire people to dedicate their lives and talents to scientific and technological effort, through the examples of Ernest O. Lawrence and the Lawrence Award laureates; and
- to highlight for the general public the accomplishments of the U.S. scientific and technological communities associated with the U.S. Department of Energy.

Nominations for the Lawrence Award are solicited annually in each of the following eight categories:
1. Atomic, Molecular, and Chemical Sciences
2. Biological and Environmental Sciences
3. Computer, Information, and Knowledge Sciences
4. Condensed Matter and Materials Sciences
5. Energy Science and Innovation
6. Fusion and Plasma Sciences
7. High Energy and Nuclear Physics
8. National Security and Nonproliferation

The Lawrence Award category descriptions are intended to help guide the nominator when submitting a nomination. Nominators should submit nominations to the category deemed most appropriate, noting that this choice is made at the sole discretion of the nominator(s). An individual's nomination is limited to a single category and that eligibility for the award requires that the research achievement justifying a nomination must be shown to have been principally funded by the U.S. Department of Energy.

For more information, please visit: